2018 Clarksburg High School Scholarship Winners


2018 Clarksburg High School
Scholarship Award Winners

The Patrick Shifflett Scholarship Award was created in 2017 to memorialize the life of Patrick by celebrating the character and accomplishments of special individuals here at Clarksburg High School.

The selected students, like Patrick, have taken pride in sharing their talents and gifts to help others – both young and old. This award seeks to recognize those who have emulated Patrick sense of values and character.  It was important for Patrick to be an inclusive force in his community, his peers, teachers, and coaches viewed him as a leader on and off the field – exhibiting a caring nature and respect for others.  Patrick set an example for the rest of us.  His strong moral values and faith guided him to live up to his personal motto, “Always Stay Humble”.

The scholarships being awarded are not solely based on accomplishments in the classroom, the athletic fields, and/or the dance, music, and art studios – while all important in their own right, it is a proven commitment to the greater good that this award recognizes.

The winners of the Patrick Shifflett Foundation Scholarship for the Class of 2018 are:

Tyler Ko: Beyond being an accomplished student athlete, Tyler exhibits a strong sense of dedication to family as well as his community – dedicating time to repair houses of the less fortunate.

Bryant Evans: With over 300 SSL hours, Bryant has accumulated 4 times the required number of hours to graduate – while also making time to play two Varsity sports and maintaining a rigorous academic workload.

Gianna Giacalone: Also known to many as “G” – is a young lady who, despite her young age, has shown a tremendous maturity and dedication to excel.  Accomplished both on and off the field – she exhibits kindness, friendship, and a love for family that speaks directly to the spirit of this award.

This year we have one more special award – the Patrick Andrew Shifflett Service Award. This award recognizes an individual who has exemplified a sense of community service that exceeds the typical expectations of our annual scholarship.  This year we would like to recognize Justice Williams for his work to establish a charity in honor of Cary Greene.  As many of you know, through his hard work and determination, Justice founded the annual “Rising Greene 7-on-7 Football Tournament”, which to-date has raised over $10,000 for causes in Cary’s name.  

Congratulations and good luck to you all!

Gianna Giacalone – Scholarship Winner

Bryant Evans – Scholarship Winner

Tyler Ko – Scholarship Winner

Justice Williams – Service Award